Hello World! Mutated-Nanowrimo style

Hello there,

Hopefully you don’t know me, so I can feel that sense of pride of having my words read by the outside world. And if you do know me – then you are lovely for indulging my first steps in to the blogging world.

What better a month to start writing than November? For one its cold and the glow of a computer screening is always very warming. It is also, what some of you will know is Nanowrimo – the national novel writing month. Started in 1999 Nanowrimo has created a community that brings together motivation and pressure, as I understand key ingredients for any writer. The aim to write a 50,000 word novel in a month.

Quite frankly this sounds like my idea of hell. I get major writing block and have the fear. Seriously I am the kind to draft birthday card notes such is my worry the words won’t fit. Then there is the deeply ingrained procrastination gene – the one that says we can complete this later.

I could lie and say I’ve read some infamous self help book about facing my fear and getting over it. But that isn’t the case, I have however watched a lot of cartoons and read a lot of comics – the facing your fears theme is common enough. Seems to work for Batman and that is good enough for me.

Nanowrimo appeals to me because for a long while I have wanted to write, nothing so grand as a novel but to join the world of blogging. I am entering Nanowrimo as a cheat, a fraud, a rebel one of those who is missing the point but screw those thoughts this is my challenge. The challenge to write at least one 300 word blog a day. For once to put my dyslexic paranoias aside and just write, to stop panicking that my sentences won’t make sense. It is very likely but who cares. If anyone devalues my opinions or experiences because a comma is out of place then there is not much I can do other than be very english and tut (which I quite enjoy doing).Image

Don’t get me wrong I welcome corrections as english is notoriously not the most dyslexic friendly. All I can hope is people can try not to be a cunt when pointing out that I am assaulting the english language (EL). I didn’t mean too, I am sure EL has often consented to these assaults and sometimes welcomed them how else would words like Kiki been born?

But lets end my first blog on a light note. Plenty of days left to get ranty. For if you keep following I welcome you to my world a place where is it safe to watch cartoons, more than tut at gender issues, read comics, to be awkward in your own skin, to talk sex and save the world from zombies – board game style.

2 thoughts on “Hello World! Mutated-Nanowrimo style

  1. I’ll try and keep my red pen at bay but if you get in trouble with the language pendants who can always quote James Nicoll “The problem with defending the purity of the English language is that the English language is as pure as a crib-house whore. It not only borrows words from other languages; it has on occasion chased other languages down dark alley-ways, clubbed them unconscious and rifled their pockets for new vocabulary.”

Leave a Reply

